The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 28, 2006, 11:00 AM   #1
cliffhanger

Dillon RL 550b dies

I am new to reloading, picked up a dillon rl550b on the advise of a co-worker. I took it home, set it up, but I don't know what kind of dies to buy for it. I am looking to reload .40, 9mm, and .270 rounds. I got a .40 conversion kit that came with it, but I don't know if I need to buy dies for the different calibers or if I can just use the conversion kits for the pistol rounds and just buy a rifle die.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Old March 28, 2006, 11:16 AM   #2
azredhawk44

cliff -

welcome!

Each caliber you intend to reload for (with some rare exceptions) requires a separate set of dies.

I'd suggest that you start with the rifle caliber to begin learning... You have less of a probability to double-charge a case and cause injury to yourself or others.

Not sure what a conversion kit is... I know that Dillon's typically have a removeable shell plate with 4 holes that facilitates changing to a different caliber quickly. To use the shell plates to swap calibers rapidly, you have to have a plate for each set of dies, though. That may be what they mean by conversion kit... your press came with one plate with 4 dillon .40 caliber dies in it?

With the automatic calibers, be sure not to crimp very hard (or at all). The cartridge seats itself in the chamber by using the exposed cartridge head, so don't crimp it into the bullet deep or you will have failures to fire, out of battery malfunctions and slide jams.

Ask more questions! We're all here to help.
Old March 28, 2006, 03:06 PM   #3
caz223

I have a 550, and you still need dies for the calibers you intend to load.
Almost any brand of dies will work, but I'd recommend either dillon dies as they come with the right dies for your caliber and press.