The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old January 26, 2010, 12:58 PM   #1
TheDarkOne

Proper Sight Picture & Target Acquisition Process

I am pretty new to shooting handguns, and have just started competing in local competitions. I have been thinking a lot about the proper/best way to get through a stage as related to correct sight picture; more specifically, what exactly the eyes are doing, and where they are focused from start to finish.

1. We are taught to use good front sight focus, but we start every stage with target focus. So when exactly do you switch your focus from the target plane to the front sight, and when do wait until you have that front sight before breaking off that first shot?

2. Once you have that good front sight focus, do you maintain that focus throughout your firing sequence, or do you bounce back and forth between front sight focus and target focus?

3. With proper front sight focus, you will have 2 fuzzy images of each target down range. The question then is, how do you know which one to shoot at? This gets especially difficult when they all look alike and/or start to overlap each other.

I don't know if there is a proper way to all of this, but I would love to hear your thoughts as I am very confused. That last thing I want to do is start ingraining bad habits. Thanks.
Old January 26, 2010, 05:30 PM   #2
Buster9mil

Good questions and very well stated TheDarkOne. I need the answers myself.
Any sight recommendations, especially for aging eyes, is welcome too!
Old January 26, 2010, 05:39 PM   #3
TheDarkOne

Thank you. I was beginning to wonder if my post made any sense, since the questions I have posed have yet gone unanswered. It may be something that people don't really think about, especially if they are advanced shooters.
Old January 26, 2010, 07:46 PM   #4
The_Vigilante

Proper Sight Picture & Target Acquisition Process