The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 16, 2009, 12:47 AM   #1
wareaglemarine

stick vs ball

I'm new to reloading, if two rounds are loaded identically (same caliber, bullet, primer, powder amount) with the only difference being one is loaded with stick and the other with ball powder, in general?
Old December 16, 2009, 12:57 AM   #2
Shoney

What is your question?

All powders, whether ball or stick, have diiferent burn rates. Therefore there is no general answer. Without specifying particular powders for comparison, you cannot derive a general difference or similarity.
I pledge allegiance to the Flag - - -, and to the Republic for which it stands….Our Forefathers were brilliant for giving us a Republic, not a democracy! Do you know the difference??? and WHY?http://www.wallbuilders.com/LIBissue...les.asp?id=111
Old December 16, 2009, 12:58 AM   #3
awaveritt

Not sure what you're asking. Please elaborate and we'll try to help.
Old December 16, 2009, 01:22 AM   #4
Jim243

Then you are in trouble, Ball power for pistol, stick for rifle. Unless you are the US army and use ball powder in your 5.56, but then again if you were in Vietnam that too was part of your problem, the M-16 was manufactured to use stick and the army thought that ball would be cheaper.
Old December 16, 2009, 01:40 AM   #5
wareaglemarine

I understand that all the different powders have different burn rates, I was just wondering what the basic difference is between stick and ball, and if the charges of each would be about the same. I was in the Marine Corps and am loading 5.56, to start. Thanks for the help.
Old December 16, 2009, 01:47 AM   #6
kwells6

what type of weapon are you loading for?
Old December 16, 2009, 01:51 AM   #7
wareaglemarine

Smith & Wesson M&P15, 16" 1:9 twist
Old December 16, 2009, 01:53 AM   #8
kwells6