The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old December 8, 2014, 11:27 PM   #1
idek

6.5 grendel options

I recently started a topic in the bolt-action forum asking about guns in .260 Remington. While I am on the 6.5 caliber track, I thought I'd ask about the 6.5 Grendel as well.

I've seen ballistics charts and know the Grendel is not a match for the .260 and can't handle heavy bullets, but it still might be suitable for various purposes (medium game hunting, casual target shooting, home defense).

What I don't know much about is who sells rifles and parts for the caliber (I have no experience with ARs). Alexander Arms seems to be the originator of the cartridge and primary manufacturer of rifles for it, but do other companies make them? I can't seem to find much.

I wouldn't want junk, but I certainly don't need competition-grade stuff either. Any suggestions on a good value in this caliber?

Are kits like this ever worthwhile?

Last edited by idek; December 8, 2014 at 11:45 PM.
Old December 9, 2014, 11:22 AM   #2
scottycoyote

im in the same boat. I have been wanting a hunting rifle i could use for deer as well as take it to the range for some long distance target practice. I was initially thinking of buying a nice bolt action in 308/260/etc...then i got to thinking about getting a different upper for my ar and using it in that capacity. Seems like the best 2 options in the ar platform for what i want is the 6.5g followed by the 6.8. What would be a good upper thats accurate but not break the bank. All i really need is a flattop to mount a scope and barrel length doesnt matter.
Old December 9, 2014, 11:56 AM   #3
mehavey

I went the Alexander Arms route in a 20" Grendel upper for my Colt HBAR lower. Fits/works just great.

See http://www.65grendel.com/forum/showt...ll=1#post21283

As far as hunting goes, the Grendel will take games up through mule deer out to comparable 308 ranges: