The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 7, 2010, 05:41 PM   #1
rbf420

RCBS uniflow VS Lee perfect powder measure

ive been using lee ppm for a few months havent had any real complaints. it does vary a little but not noticible even when loading 9mm's yes i do have to tap the side of it each time i throw but other than that not real complaints...

so i ran into some extra money and decided to get a more expensive dispenser to see what i was missing... so i went and got a RCBS Uniflow...

have to say doesnt look like i was missing much... i did as the directions said and cleaned out the rust preventative as best i could and ran more than enough powder through to the the good film, but it throughs just as good as the lee and cuts the powder pretty bad...

i did a trial run on for both to see which one varies the most and its really too close to call...

so i guess ima ask you guys on your opinions on either of these dispensors...

im probably gonna send back the uniflow considering how much i spent : /
Old February 7, 2010, 05:49 PM   #2
islander

I had inconsistent throws with the Uniflow using the large cylinder for small revolver charges. Replaced it with a small cylinder and the throws tightened up as specified within one-tenth grain, using spherical powder. I'm very satisfed with the Uniflow.
Old February 7, 2010, 05:54 PM   #3
brickeyee

Uniflow with the correct cylinder and a baffle beats the lee hand down.

The lee leaks ball and flake powder.

Even the stand for the lee is flimsy and lets the thing move around when used.
Old February 7, 2010, 07:00 PM   #4
wncchester

"..so i guess ima ask you guys on your opinions on either of these dispensors..."

Sounds like you have it figured out as well as it can be expressed.

ANY measure will dispense ball powders well. Few will dispense stick powders as well as the Lee "Perfect".