The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old April 16, 2009, 08:53 PM   #1
bwheasler

Accutips

Just finished sighting in my 870 for my Africa trip in 2 weeks. These Accutips shot sweet. Well within reasonable hunting distance, and I don't think 150 to 175yds would be unreasonable with a solid rest. They impressed me, I was on target in under 10 shots, downside $17.00 a box around here. 2" @75yds and 2" @ 125 if I hadn't pulled the last shot. Not too bad for a slug gun.

Last edited by bwheasler; April 17, 2009 at 08:33 AM.
Old April 16, 2009, 09:24 PM   #2
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

Seventeen bucks for 25 rounds is Cheap!
Or is that for 5?
Brent
Old April 17, 2009, 08:32 AM   #3
bwheasler

Sorry

That's for 5 ,ouch
Old April 17, 2009, 09:53 AM   #4
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

That's good to hear. I'm hoping my 1187 likes them. I've been shooting the Core-Lokt Ultras for a couple years because they have the best ballistics, besides the newer Winchester Supremes which my gun hates. Considering that most (like 90%) of my shots are at less than 50 yards I was thinking that I'd rather use the Accutips since they are supposed to expand better. The one thing a shotgun is typically lacking is a bullet that actually puts the energy IN the target instead of exiting the other side with little or no evidence of expansion.

Don't forget to let us know what they do to flesh and blood.
Old April 17, 2009, 02:06 PM   #5
bwheasler

So true

The only time I recovered a slug was from a frontal shot, and when I opened the deer, it wasn't pretty. I can't wait to see how they perform on kudu. I'll let you all in a couple weeks. With the 58 cal still at 385gr the jacket has to be thinner, aq nd the holes in baslistic tip should catch the liquid in the animal and give it a hydroshock type of wound, I hope.
Old April 20, 2009, 01:01 PM   #6
trooper3385