The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 31, 2015, 11:28 AM   #1
Calfpuller

Improper sized brass

I am new to reloading and sized and primed 200 rounds of .223. Proceeded to charge and seat bullets on 100 of these and about 70% of these are hard to get the bolt to close. Should i shoot the hard to close rounds Or will they damage my gun. And how do i resize the other 100 that have been primed safely. All opinions will be helpful. Thanks
Old August 31, 2015, 11:30 AM   #2
Grizz12

Where did you get your brass?

Are your dies full length resizing dies?
Old August 31, 2015, 11:34 AM   #3
Calfpuller

All of it was once shot brass from multiple companies. And they are lee full length dies. I know how i messed up the sizeing procedure. I just want to know what to do with the finished rounds and primed brass
Old August 31, 2015, 11:41 AM   #4
mehavey

If it's a bolt gun (not a gas gun), go ahead and shoot them. **

For the other cases, simply pull the depriming pin out of the expander
(leaving the expander ball itself) and resize them to spec. For now, do a full
resize by screwing the resizing die in ~1/8 turn past full contact w/ the ram

**If it's a gas gun (e.g., an AR) pull the bullet and resize w/o depriming as suggested above.
Old August 31, 2015, 11:45 AM   #5
Calfpuller

Yea i messed up I did that with my first 50. But then talked to a family member that told me to back off the die instead...Mistake. Thank you
Old August 31, 2015, 01:15 PM   #6
Unclenick
Staff

Calfpuller,

A die sizes as follows: