The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old May 19, 2001, 03:01 PM   #1
Jeff, CA

I'm looking for something to simulate the size and weight of a rifle (about 4' long, 2" diameter, 7 or 8 lb) to use on my exercise walks. I have no experience or training in using such a piece as a weapon, and I haven't had any trouble with animals of any number of legs, so that aspect is farther down on my list of priorities - the size and weight are what I'm after, followed by a non-threatening appearance. I also want it to "feel friendly", so a piece of steel pipe won't do.

Spectre, in another thread you said you have a 6'2" bo, made of "canvas micarta" (?) that weighs 2x what a hardwood one would weigh. How much does it weigh, and would something like that be available in other lengths? How about $$?

Thanks.

Old May 20, 2001, 09:52 AM   #2
Spectre
Staff Alumnus

Hey, Jeff.

Micarta is a composite made of melding cloth and resin. Linen micarta is a common material for scales on good knives. The canvas micarta I have has larger, more visible grain from the tighter weave of the linen. It looks like wood until you inspect it very closely.

I bought my bo from an aquaintance that also trains. I'm not certain on exact weight, but the micarta easily outweighs purple heart, which is very dense and heavy. The micarta I've found to be practically indestructible(I've broken other materials), at least in the 1 1/4" or so piece I have. I paid $100 for mine, but I believe the price had gone down a little in "production" examples. (I bought the first one. )

The problem is, I heard the guy who made my bo finally got a "real" job. I do believe a 4' ("jo") length, 2" wide piece of this material would weight at least what an average rifle would weigh. Perhaps more. I'll see if I can get an idea of exact weight of my bo after I get home this evening.

Old May 20, 2001, 10:26 AM   #3
Al Thompson
Staff Alumnus