The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 17, 2009, 10:25 PM   #1
ArkieVol

What happened? Seating die tore case...

I'm new to reloading but have successfully loaded about 700 rounds of .38 spl.; 158g LSWC, 125g SJHP, 125g copper plated, and fired over 100 of them through two different guns with no problems. Today, however, I decided to load some 148g wadcutters for the first time and immediately ran into a problem.

Using RCBS carbide die set and was attempting to set my OAL for wadcutters...Hornady .358, 148g HBWC, OAL 1.180. I didn't change my crimp setting (which was set light for minimum loads) and put a wadcutter into the slightly belled practice case to set the OAL. I ran it into the die two or three times, adjusting it deeper each time. The last time I lowered the cartridge, the wadcutter was still in the case but the top 1/8th of an inch of the case was missing...stuck in the die.

Like an earlier poster, I have only the internet and books to rely on so I would appreciate any help you can spare.
Thanks,
Jack

1. What did I do wrong?
2. Any way to remove the stuck piece of brass other than sending it to factory?
3. Would it be easier to just buy new die?

The attached photo shows two previously loaded rounds, empty belled case, and the wadcutter and in the torn case.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1349_2.jpg (234.9 KB, 187 views)
Old September 17, 2009, 11:06 PM   #2
Kyo

maybe the die can't handle wadcutters. I have never loaded them but I don't see the point in having them either. See if you can take off the excess with a shirt or something. Thats what I do with my reloads when I see the lead on the sides for any reason
4. Be be sure of your target and what is beyond it.
Old September 18, 2009, 02:59 AM   #3
'Borg

Are you sure it's not just the lead overlapping on the case?
That's what it looks like.