The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old September 10, 2005, 09:13 PM   #1
AndrewTB

Want to hunt boar.

Well im debating hunting. Ive thought about an animal I could hunt without feeling guilty and having something that taste good.

Ive narrowed it down to boar just because they can be pretty nasty and im told its more of a challenge. I may be incorrect. Ive never hunted at all. So ive come here to get some insight on how to get started! I wouldnt know where to start. Id also want to figure out how to kill the damned things without having them scream. LOL an odd request but im a noob. I want to start off slowly.
Old September 10, 2005, 10:08 PM   #2
butch50

If you have never hunted at all, are you going to be with an experienced hunter? If you are, then go with what he suggests.

If you are going hunting solo and have never hunted before - then I would suggest that you start with small game such as rabbits and/or squirrels. They are excellent eating, easily dressed and handled by a novice and provide much enjoyment in hunting. They will provide you with experience and field craft for hunting the larger animals later as you get comfortable with hunting.

If you are going on a guided hunt, then do as the guide suggests. Hog hunting with an experienced hunter would be a blast for you - but hog hunting on your own, without previous experience hunting, might become discouraging.

‘‘The great object is that every man be armed. Everyone who is able may have a gun.’’ ~ Patrick Henry
Old September 10, 2005, 10:38 PM   #3
CobrayCommando

Ugly things are probably easier to kill, and I have the same question about screaming.
Old September 10, 2005, 11:03 PM   #4
AndrewTB

I wouldnt mind starting with small game but rabbits and squirrels are out of the question. Is there anything thats ugly that wont make me feel as bad? I know it sounds funny but the Rabbits, Deer and Squirrels are my favorite animals.