The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old August 13, 2005, 10:05 AM   #1
dentodoc

Controlled Feed vs. Push Feed?

I am rather new to gun forums and I would like for someone to explain to me what is the difference between controlled feed and push feed in a bolt action rifle, and more importantly to me, which one is better, and why?

Thanks!
Old August 13, 2005, 10:55 AM   #2
impact

Most all bolt guns are push feed. The pre 64 and post 64 "Classic" line of Winchesters are control feed. There may be other gun manufactures I don't know of? The pre 64s and post 64 Classics use a mauser type bolt. With a control feed you can hold the gun upside down and the cartridge will remain in the reciver when you work the bolt to feed a cartridge in the chamber. The bolt face holds the cartridge and will not fall away.

With a push feed the bolt just pushes the cartridge into the chamber area. The mag holds the cartridge. The bolt has to strip the cartridge from the mag. The cartridge is all ready part way in the chamber area before the cartridge pops loose from the mag.

Most all of the old military bolt guns are control feed. Like my Springfeild 03 which has a bolt that looks like a mauser bolt and the 1917.

For hunting whitetail any one of the two actions will work just fine. Some people go ape S**t crazy over control feed guns. There is more work involved in making a control type bolt. I have both. Like both. It don't matter to me ether way which type action I hunt with.
Old August 13, 2005, 11:21 AM   #3
Rich Lucibella
Staff

Impact-
Friendly reminder: Please check the announcement at the top of each Forum.
Rich
Old August 13, 2005, 01:23 PM   #4
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

Folks who hunt dangerous game prefer the controlled feed to the push feed. If you're dodging something with claws and teeth or big feet--all coupled with a Bad Attitude--you want the utmost in reliability in reloading whille you're stumbling around.