The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old October 10, 2014, 01:32 PM   #1
Papa D

NIB GP100 with burn marks?

Was at my LGS (also a pawn shop) contemplating a Ruger GP100 in Stainless. The lady at the desk said it was "New In Box and had never been fired". However, upon opening the cylinder, I witnessed just a messy black all over the front of the Cylinder. Now, I am new to hanguns, and extremely new to revolvers. She was willing to give a satisfactory deal on it (if it was in fact NIB). My question is, would the few test fires done at the factory make a noticeable build up of black on a new gun, or was she pulling my chain and trying to get rid of used merchandise at new prices?
Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.
~2 Chronicles 7:14
Old October 10, 2014, 01:43 PM   #2
MrBorland

You'll have to define "noticeable buildup". The front of the cylinder will turn back immediately after firing. No way around that. Getting it thick enough to constitute genuine build-up takes a lot more shooting. If it's really bad, the gap between the front of the cylinder and the end of the barrel closes somewhat, but if you're new to revolvers, it'd be tough to see the difference between normal and too little gap.

Open the cylinder and take a look at the area between the top strap and the barrel to see if there's a build-up of crud there.
Old October 10, 2014, 02:11 PM   #3
Pahoo

Comes down to a matter of trust !!! As always

Quote:
My question is, would the few test fires done at the factory make a noticeable build up of black on a new gun, or was she pulling my chain and trying to get rid of used merchandise at new prices?