The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 1, 2009, 08:25 AM   #1
iblong

45 200swc vs 230 lrn

Ive been loading 230 gr lrn in 45acp and have just started loading 200gr lswc's
Using the same powder and load the 200 is shooting low about 2",very nice groups but low.Im asumming its do to the lighter bullet exiting the barrel faster than the heavier bullet.So in theory if I drop the velocity I should raise the poi.This in a fixed sight 5" 1911. does this seam the right direction to go.
Im new to loading 45 acp,so any imput is welcome.
Thanks,Bob.
Old June 1, 2009, 12:52 PM   #2
Sky Master

A faster bullet would shoot higher not lower. Try throwing a rock at different speeds and you'll see. You need to increase the charge maybe .2 grains at a time without exceeding the max, watch for pressure signs. You may also consider having the fixed sight replaced with an adjustable one. I had this done on my Colt Commander in 9 mm 30 yrs ago. MMC is the sight I had put on, don't know if their still in business.
Old June 2, 2009, 05:07 PM   #3
Pocketfisherman

While that is true ballisticly from a fixed mounted barrel, it is not true for a hand held pistol. As soon as the charge fires, the pistol starts recoiling and the muzzle moves up. A faster round is going to exit the muzzle with a lower line of trajectory than a slower round which stays in the barrel longer and allows for more muzzle climb.
Old June 2, 2009, 09:04 PM   #4
Sky Master

iblong, I never thought of that, you just might be right.
I'd still look into putting on a adjustable sight. It would take care of different weights of bullets and charges.
That's why I did it.
Old June 2, 2009, 09:10 PM   #5
aerod1