The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 5, 2002, 04:21 PM   #1
braindead0

.357 revo - Redding Profile crimp die or anoder RCBS seater/crimper

I'm planning on upgrading my chucker with a piggyback III and figure I'd be better off seating and crimping in seperate operations.

Wondering about any advantages to using the Redding profile crimp die for .357 revolver use? I figure it's either that or get another RCBS carbide die set and have some spare parts.

tia.
Old September 6, 2002, 10:45 AM   #2
braindead0

Yikes, no opinions? I almost expected to start a 'my die is better than your die' war ;-)
Old September 6, 2002, 02:53 PM   #3
stans

While I have no experience with the Redding Profile Crimp, I do crimp all cartridges as a separate process. I found that accuracy was improved and I just use RCBS taper or roll crimp dies.
Old September 7, 2002, 07:41 AM   #4
WESHOOT2

ABSOLUTELY WITHOUT QUESTION UNDENIABLY worth it.

Tested; fact: Reding Profile Crimp die will increase accuracy (".....but not always.....").

Buy.
Old September 7, 2002, 09:37 AM   #5
Intel6

I always seem to be sayting this after WESHOOT2 says it about the Redding PC.

Most definitly get and use the Redding Profile Crimp dies. As WESHOOT2 has said they can and do help in performance and accuracy. I have done a bunch of testing with different revolver calibers and have found that the PC gives me a much more consistent round and increased accuracy. I use them for .32 S&WL/.32 MAG; .38/.357/.357 MAX; .44 SPL/.44 MAG; .45 Auto Rim and ACP rounds in my revolvers and .45 COLT.
Old September 7, 2002, 05:06 PM   #6
braindead0

Thanks, turns out that it's cheaper to just buy the profile die anyway.. at least since midway doesn't have any RCBS roll crimp dies in stock.. Heck, $14 or so.. cheap..
Old September 12, 2002, 07:36 AM   #7
braindead0