The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 24, 1999, 10:32 AM   #1
CMOS

Please excuse my ignorance on this specific topic. I have been shooting shotguns for many years and as of late have seen several posts that suggest "lengthening the forcing cone" and "having the forcing cone done". What is this all about?

I am going to take a jump and assume this has to do with the internal contour of the barrel (??) with regards to effecting the pattern. Am I on base here? I have also seen reference to this effecting the recoil??

Can you guys educate me a bit and let me know what this modification entails? I currently have an 870 Marine Magnum with a "CYL" (cylinder) barrel.

I would like to narrow the pattern of the 870. Please comment. Thanks in advance.

CMOS

------------------
Join GOA, NRA, LEAA and vote.

[This message has been edited by CMOS (edited November 24, 1999).]
Old November 24, 1999, 01:45 PM   #2
bruels

The most energetic method of lengthening the forcing cone is exemplified in the Vang Comp modification by Hans Vang. Essentially the forcing cone is removed and instead there is a gradual taper from the chamber all the way to where the bore meets the "choke."

It is said to reduce perceived recoil because the compression of the shot charge is more gradual and the pressure spike that comes from rapid shot compression is reduced.

In many cases shot patterning is denser because the pellets are not deformed as much during the transition from chamber to bore.

For more info on the Vang Comp, see http://www.vangcomp.com/ .

Many people on the forum have the Vang Comp on their shotguns and are very pleased with it. I have it on my Mossberg 500 and won't buy anymore shotguns without it.

Old November 24, 1999, 03:18 PM   #3
house