The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old July 7, 2004, 11:06 AM   #1
UnforgivenII

Handgun ammo for whitetails

I've been hunting whitetails for a couple years with my 357 mag and have been trying to find a good hollowpoint that will give good expansion and decent penetration. Penetration isn't as much of a factor because the range from which I am hunting is within 30 or 40 yrds. I had tried gold dots a couple years ago but after dropping a deer with one I found that it had not expanded very much if at all.Same goes for the XTP's. I have heard that the GD's have been redesigned somewhat to open up faster and was wondering if anyone has any info or recommendation. Also, I am currently using hydra shoks but havent had a chance to take a deer with them as of yet.
Old July 7, 2004, 11:21 AM   #2
UnforgivenII

One more thing, has anyone used RBCD ammo? It's some of the fragmenting ammo like magsafe or extremeshock.
Old July 7, 2004, 11:32 AM   #3
steveno

use Winchester Platinum Tip Hollow Points. they really shoot well in my 41 mag
Old July 7, 2004, 11:55 AM   #4
Erich

I'd check out Buffalo Bore's website.
Old July 9, 2004, 04:03 PM   #5
Long Path

What's your barrel length, and what model revolver are you carrying?

Also, what kind of expansion have you gotten? What kind are you expecting?
Old July 12, 2004, 09:01 AM   #6
Johnny Guest
Moderator in Memoriam

Perhaps your expectations are a bit high?

UnforgivenII, Maybe we need a bit more information to provide useful input - - -

What is the barrel length of your .357? Only certain loads will give a lot of expansion with a shorter-than-six-inch barrel. Frankly, the brands you mention are two of the better-reputed "big name" types. When you start out with a .357-diameter bullet, any final diameter over .50 is pretty good.

What weight XTP and GD bullets have you used?
This relates to the question - -

Where do you hunt