The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 26, 2007, 09:59 AM   #1
trappy

Smashing 45acp brass

Hi, I am new to reloading handgun ammo. I believe I have adjusted the dies wrong. when I seat the bullet I am having two problems.1 is the copper skin of the bullet is scrunching up around the edge of the brass. 2 the brass is smashing in the center of the case.I though I read the instructions from rcbs but I am doing something wrong .......Please help
Old January 26, 2007, 10:10 AM   #2
okiefarmer

It certainly seem that way now doesn't it

First suggestion is to back your seating die up in the press. There was another newby on the forum having a similar situation as yourself. If you cases have been belled, then place a case in the shell holder, run it up into the seating die with the die threaded as far up as possible. Then with the case pushed up toward/into the seating die, begin to thread it back towards the case intil you feel a little pressure (this will be the die body trying to straighten out the bell. Press handle must be all the way down and cammed over. Play with the die until you just take the bell out of the case (if ya don't bell your cases but use BB boolits, then it's a little harder to do this step) Now, lock the die into the press with the lock ring. Next, do the same thing with the boolits in the case with the seating punch. Run it out, then progressively run it in until it seats the bullet at the proper depth you want, and the die body closes the bell all at the same time. Usually more easily accomplished with empty/unprimed, but sized cases as you will waste some in the process if you don't understand what you are doing.

HTH
Welcome to the hobby, now hurry out and hoard all the brass and supplies you can before Uncle Sam outlaws it all.

Okie out
Old January 26, 2007, 12:24 PM   #3
maggys drawers