The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 9, 2008, 07:31 PM   #1
DaveInPA

Any advantage to using expensive high end brass?

I'm going to start toying around with hand loading .223 for precision accuracy at 200 yards. Is there really any advantage to using expensive, high end brass? For example, Norma brass is OVER A DOLLAR PER CASE. That seems insane. Any point to it?

As of now, I have Remington (RP stamp), WCC (Winchester military), Winchester commercial stamp, S&B, and Federal brass on hand. What brands of brass have you guys had good luck with in precision .223 loads?
Old November 9, 2008, 07:54 PM   #2
Sevens

I think if you've got some oddball, near wildcat or perhaps a defunct old caliber, getting a hold of some Lapua or Norma might make some sense. Seems to me that it's going to last as long or longer than any other brand, but I'll admit freely that I have no experience with uber-expensive brass.

.223? This is second only to .308 (hell, maybe it's first?) in popularity. Nobody would say that .223 brass is scarce. It's way, way beyond plentiful.

IMO, there's SO MUCH OF THIS STUFF out there, you'd be goofy to spend money on expensive brass.

For me, I use all Lake City brass, and all of it gets sent out my my 14-inch Contender. 3/4" groups at 100 yards are easy. (haven't had the opportunity to try 200 yards)

I've seen trouble with S&B brass in other calibers, but I only have experience with LC brass in .223.

For your serious accuracy work at 200 yards, I'd pick ONE of whatever you have (whichever you have the most of!) and try that. Don't mix your brass, that won't help with accuracy.
Old November 9, 2008, 09:14 PM   #3
slotracer577