The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 24, 2013, 01:49 AM   #1
Metal god

Just started reloading today . Question about compressed loads .

Hello I'm new to this sub forum but I'm sure you all will get to know me soon enough I'm loading for a 308 Savage FCP-K and it has a very short throat .The published COAL on most of my bullets is to long and when I seat them at that length the bullet jams in to the rifling and my bolt gets stuck . OK easy fix I just seat them a little deeper right ?

OK here is where I get a little concerned . I was loading 190gr smk with IMR-4350 . I could tell right away when I put the smallest starting load in the case that the bullet would be touching the powder . Now that was at 40.7gr and I new I was never going to get to the max load of 47.8gr . I did get a load of 46gr and got the bullet to seat deep enough to chamber in my rifle . The bullet is right up against the lands though , not pressed in but touching . Will I get to much pressure with that compressed load and the bullet sitting up against the lands/rifling ? I have the same issue with the 178gr A-MAX's and the same powder . The longest I can have the 178gr A-MAX loaded 2.7650 before it starts sticking in the rifling . Same problem with the 175gr smk max length 2.750 . All those measurements are just touching but not stuck in the lands/rifling .

I loaded 4 different powders today .
IMR-4350
Power Pro 2000MR
Viht-N540
Viht-N550
The only powder I had compressed loads with was the IMR-4350 . I don't remember which one but one of the others was close to compressed but more like the bullet was just touching the powder .

When I first learned of the short throat my rifle had I was glad . I was thinking the barrel will last longer cus I have more throat to burn out . Now I'm thinking it sucks cus I have to seat my bullets so deep .