The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 7, 2012, 09:55 AM   #1
ScottRiqui

Powder/charge choice versus bullet choice in .223?

In terms of accuracy, how big of a difference does the powder brand and charge weight make compared to the choice of bullet?

The reason I'm asking is that I have a bunch of the Armscor 62gr FMJBT bullets. I know that these bullets aren't in the same league as Sierra Matchking or anything like that - they're more suitable for "blasting/plinking" ammo. As such, I'm wondering if it's worthwhile to play around with working up a bunch of different loads of different types of powder in order to increase accuracy, or if I should just be satisfied with something that functions well in my AR, and save the meticulous load development for when I get some higher-quality bullets?
Old September 7, 2012, 10:01 AM   #2
wingman

Personally I would simply wait until I purchased quality bullets(the 52gr match-king has never failed to be super accurate in all my 223's)I would use what you have as practice and plinking..
Old September 7, 2012, 11:40 AM   #3
snuffy

I too bit the bullet, that being the armscor 62 grainers. While I ONLY tried one load, they shot miserably. The rest are covered with dust in a corner, likely will stay that way. No sense wasting powder and primers on them. YMMV, they MAY shoot okay with a different powder, but I'm too busy with loads that DO shoot.

They're going to get their butts kicked over there this election. How come people can't spell and use words correctly?
Old September 7, 2012, 11:52 AM   #4
oldpapps

I concur with 'snuffy',

I have never been able to find a mix using the 62gr pulls that have given the performance that I want.

But then, they do a good job for what they were intended for.

I have several round loaded up for the grand kids to blast-a-way with. It makes them happy and is better than wasting my groomed loads.