The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 20, 2011, 05:02 PM   #1
montgomery.jace

Ar 15 Problems

Hey guys, Im new to this forum and i have been having problems with my AR 15 and looking for some advice. I would not call myself an expert but i would also not say im a noob either. Anyway, to the issue at hand. I bought an AR 15 at a gun show a couple of months ago. The maker of the lower is Tactical Machining Inc. not to sure about the upper. I was skeptical at first about buying a "no name" AR 15 but it was a good price and the stats on the rifle said that everything was mil-spec. So anyway i bought the rifle and have been having problems with it quite often. Mostly with ftf and fte. I attribute the problems to the rifle being "cheap" and have been thinking about upgrading some of the parts (bolt carrier group in paticular) to make it a more reliable rifle. I have field stripped the rifle, cleaned it, lubed it, made sure the gas rings were oriented correctly. And still having problems. It does ok if i dont try to put too many rounds through it too quickly. I can rarely go through a magazine dump without a jam. I have used a couple of different kinds of ammunition (nothing really cheap, american eagle mostly) and use magpul p-mags. I am very unhappy with the rifle and would like to be able to go to the range just one day without a malfunction. Would an upgraded bolt carrier (colt, fail-zero, bushmaster, etc..) make it a more reliable platform?Any tips or advice would be really helpfull. Thanks.
Old November 20, 2011, 06:53 PM   #2
Catrucker

Have you thoroughly cleaned the bolt carrier? If it is too heavily lubed it will be sticky and could cause those problems.
Tons of AR info here; http://www.ar15.com/ you should be able to search your problem, and find answers.
Old November 20, 2011, 07:05 PM   #3
rjrivero

Welcome to the forum.