The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 17, 2010, 04:14 PM   #1
kimberguy

Questions about Hornady LNL Powder measure

I'm new to reloading. I have the Hornady LNL AP press with theLNL powder measure / dispensor it comes with. I've noticed that Hornady sells what looks to be micrometer adjustable powder measures for pistol/handgun and rifle.
What exactly are these for and do I need them? Do any of you have them? Do I need another rotor if I get them. Hornady seems to make some great stuff but their web site leaves alot to be desired in the way of explanation of some of their products. Any help would be appreciated. Also, I read in another thread about some one using rice as a tumbling medium. I've never heard of that. How well does it work?
Old January 17, 2010, 04:46 PM   #2
jbrown13

Micrometer Powder Stem

I have the micrometer pistol insert (I don't think there is one for the rifle rotor) for the Hornady powder measure and it works as advertised. You just snap out the regular pistol stem and snap in the micrometer stem. I record the micrometer settings for all my loads and then when I'm loading I can dial my powder measure in quickly. There still is some tweaking to be done (I guess due to humidity, barometric pressure, phase of the moon, etc.), but you get there much quicker. Some guys buy a separate regular insert for some of their loads and leave them set so they can swap them out depending on what they are loading. Either way ends up being a time saver for setting up powder drops.
Old January 17, 2010, 05:44 PM   #3
David Wile

Hey folks,