The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old May 7, 2009, 08:20 AM   #1
CowTowner

Could this really be legal?

OK, I hope this doesn't come off as a drive-by.
But the article linked to below, discusses a proposed Texas law taking "sovereignty" to a level I'm not sure would pass any federal legal challenge.
Can the State of Texas really enact legislation that permits the manufacture, distribution and sale of firearms, ammunition and parts without the feds being involved in any way? Even if these activities are only for intrastate commerce?

Here's the news story:
http://www.star-telegram.com/legisla...y/1355073.html

I'm not a lawyer or even a highly educated man. But this doesn't seem to pass any smell test I can come up with.
Any help in understanding this is greatly appreciated.
“Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life......” President John F. Kennedy

Last edited by CowTowner; May 7, 2009 at 08:37 AM. Reason: grammer correction
Old May 7, 2009, 08:24 AM   #2
hoytinak

There's a couple of other state's (Montana, Alaska IIRC) that are trying it too.

I like it.....but the problem is this, it'll end up like California and their "legal pot" system. California says you can get a cannabis card and go to their distribution center (regulated by the county), pick up some pot, go home and smoke it. Federal law says this is a big no no. So now, these people who are "legally" smoking pot get picked up and arrested by DEA under Federal drug laws. The feds will enforce the laws of the federal government regardless of what the state says is ok.
Old May 7, 2009, 08:51 AM   #3
Dragon55

I also like it and say 'nice try' but...