The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 28, 2007, 07:57 PM   #1
tcarr

Stupid Question?

I have decided to try and take my shooting to the next level and have started trying to precision handload. I am shooting a 300 Win Mag. I am able to get about 1/2 MOA without sorting cases or weighing anything but powder, will loading with more precision; matched cases, weighing bullets, uniforming pockets, etc. help in my pursuit of accuracy? I am thinking about trying some competition.

My real question is about the expander button in the neck sizer. I am now using a Redding Type S, and it seems to me that having the expander button increase the ID of the neck kind of negates using different size bushings for different neck tensions. Is my reasoning faulty? What do some of you more experianced reloaders do?

Some background: I have been reloading for about 18 years but have only recently decided to try reloading for precision. I was instructed many years ago in long distance shooting, but want to get back into it shooting at 500 and 1000 yards.

Thanks for any info!
Old February 28, 2007, 09:49 PM   #2
Ruger4570

There is certainly nothing shoddy abour 1/2 min groups. If you are looking for some of the best reloading equipment, check out Sinclair products. Anything you do to make all things uniform will most likely improve results, but not always. You will have to try seperating cases, weighing them and the bullets etc.
Old February 28, 2007, 09:54 PM   #3
rwilson452

I have decided to try and take my shooting to the next level and have started trying to precision handload. I am shooting a 300 Win Mag. I am able to get about 1/2 MOA without sorting cases or weighing anything but powder, will loading with more precision; matched cases, weighing bullets, uniforming pockets, etc. help in my pursuit of accuracy? I am thinking about trying some competition.