The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 28, 2009, 09:15 PM   #1
jman841

Lee aniversary kit

Hey guys, I am new to reloading and was wondering what you guys thought of the lee aniversary kit? Its fairly inexpensive and read good things about it. I would mostly be reloading .308 win. Is this a good starter kit? Is there anything else not included in the kit (besides brass, bullets, primers, dies) that i will need? How many rounds per hour can i expect to produce from this once i get efficient in using it? Is it worth getting the turret kit?

Thank you
Old May 28, 2009, 09:33 PM   #2
smoakingun

that lee kit is what I started with. Odds are you won't be loading high volume right away. Add a digital scale and a powder trickler and you are in business. Keep your loading small scale untill you figure out what kind of reloading you are going to do.
Hundreds of years from now, it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove... But the world may be different because I did something so bafflingly crazy that my ruins become a tourist attraction.
Old May 28, 2009, 09:44 PM   #3
wncchester

Tens of thousands of satsified Anniversary users can't be wrong. Especially so if you are only loading for one caliber as easy as .308. Unless you want to load 2 or 3 hundred rounds quickly the turret won't be much help. I work slow and can easily, and carefully, load up to a hundred rounds an hour on any single stage press made.

I've been loading since '65. I have no digital scale and don't want one, wouldn't pay the price they get for decent ones even if I did. They are no more accurate and very little faster for powder measurements, which is a reloader scale's primary job. Why some say a beam scale is "slow" is beyond my comprehension, they must have a really poor set up and/or a poor flow pattern if a digital is really much faster to use.