The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 11, 2010, 07:02 PM   #1

The "Feel"

I don't know if this is basic stuff or it can be overlooked. I have had the benefit of learning to reload from my good friend who is also a die maker by trade. He's a darn good one too, by the way. Well, one the most important parts of reloading to my friend is repeatability and that takes feel. It takes technique too but, once you have technique you need to do the technique the exact same way every time. Using the same hand pressure when you chamfer, clean primer pockets, and deburr the flash hole are examples of using the proper feel. Using a RCBS single stage press we can change the seating depth of the bullet by .002-.003 just by changing the stroke pressure. That's not good, don't want to do that. When we use a hand priming tool, we mark cases that have a different "feel" when seating the primer in that particular case. That way when we shoot we can compare data against the unmarked majority. As we reload we will spot check finished cartridges to check for consistency. There are proper techniques to using calipers. One is using a consistent thumb pressure when closing the jaws. Again, this is an example of feel. Maybe we are just way too anal. I guess I have just bought in to the belief that we can eliminate as many variables as possible. What do you think?

Deer are amazing creatures....so please don't burn the sauteed onions and I'll pass on the steak sauce, thank you.
Old August 11, 2010, 07:13 PM   #2
dmazur

I'm not sure I agree completely with the concept.

I agree with repeatability, but I believe it should be achieved by mechanical stops and not by "feel" whenever possible.