The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 6, 2012, 08:57 PM   #1
North East Redneck

looking for info on Richland Arms 1851 brass frame revolver

Hello to all.

Been reading here for awhile, finally joined.

About a year and a half ago I became the owner of an 1851 brass framed navy repro. It is a twelve inch barrel (6 sided) version. I have the original box and paperwork, the box has serial number 31684, ballister, rev. Navy 1851, plain cylinder, cal 44 N on it. The guns serial number matches. Included with it is paperwork stating it was shipped on June 26, 1974 from Richland Arms Co. Blissfield, Michigan. It was shipped to John T. Amber Gun Digest Editor, as a sample for testing.
It shoots quite well, looks nice except for some markings on the cylinder from the stop.
Does anyone know anything about Richland Arms?
Ive been burning black powder for about ten years, only recently became interested in the details of who made it, history of different arms etc.
It has a stamp under the loading lever 'FAP',(is this Pietta?) left side of barrel says 'Black Powder Only - Made in Italy'. Frame and barrel also have hallmarks that are difficult to make out, but both have 'PN' on them. Frame has XXX on right side. Top of barrel says Navy Mod 44.
Any history of Richland Arms or their who they imported from would be great.
Old June 6, 2012, 09:17 PM   #2
zullo74

FAP is Pietta.
Old June 6, 2012, 10:46 PM   #3
Fingers McGee

And XXX indicates a 1974 manufacture date

The hallmarks as you call them are the Italian proof marks.

Dr Jim Davis (BPrevolver) can fill you in on Richlands history [email protected]
Fingers (Show Me MO smoke) McGee - AKA Man of Many Colts - Alter ego of Diabolical Ken; SASS Regulator 28564-L-TG; Rangemaster and stage writer extraordinaire; Frontiersman, Pistoleer, NRA Endowment Life, NMLRA, SAF, CCRKBA, STORM 327, SV115; Charter member, Central Ozarks Western Shooters