The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old January 27, 2010, 07:23 AM   #1
Morgoroth

On Board Range Finder

I am pretty new to hunting and most of the hunting I have done has been in woods with a lot of cover at close range(maybe 30yrds max.)

But, I got a new gun recently and I plan on going some other places where the ranges are going to be a lot more(100 or 200 yards).

After reading a bunch of different posts I know that knowing what range your game is at is going to be important.

So, how did you guys learn to judge distance?
I know the more I go out and hunt the better I will get at it, but I am looking for some way to practice this when I am not hunting.
Old January 27, 2010, 12:45 PM   #2
GeauxTide

If you've got a 100 or 200 yard rifle range, place a target at each range and shoot some groups after sighting in properly. Get a good mental picture of what the whole target looks like in the scope because that's the approximate size of a deer's vitals. If you've got a camera, take some pictures that look the same as through the scope. Next, take some shots in different field positions while trying to keep all shots in 10" on the target.
Old January 27, 2010, 01:15 PM   #3
davlandrum

This requires a little prep work:

Use your range finder to set up 100 yds. This does not have to be in the field- corner of your street to that lamp pole is fine. Walk it taking comfortable strides (don't try and stretch them out) and count how many times your left foot hits the ground, do this back and forth a few times to get a good average.

Now you can do a little math to figure out your stride length.

Armed with this knowledge, you can practice anywhere. You get out of your car in the parking lot at work, eyeball the front door, and start walking. This works very well at bow range, since you can be in a store and "range" the end of the isle.