The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 21, 2015, 12:01 AM   #1
welsh95

12 gauge reloading

Hello, I am new to the hobby of casting and reloading ammo and had a few questions. The question I did have incase anyone were to know the answer was the shells I bought came pre primed and are high brass 2 3/4 inch. The wads I bought are CB1138-12, I have a lee 1oz slug casting mold and the primers are regular Winchester 209. From my reloading book it only shows 1 1/8oz shot weight with the wads and primers that match and it calls for Blue Dot smokeless powder. My only concern is because the slugs are only 1oz will the powder load be to much without the extra 1/8oz it calls for?
Old December 21, 2015, 12:14 AM   #2
Xfire68

There is data out there for the Lee 1oz. You can not fudge the recipe here or there with shotgun loads. It's not as forgiving as handgun or rifle reloading.

Once you find the data buy the components listed and follow the recipe.
Old December 21, 2015, 12:17 AM   #3
g.willikers

It might be tempting to get creative, because shotguns aren't real high pressure weapons, but the barrels aren't very thick, either.
So, it's important to follow the load recipes very closely.
If the load date doesn't include your components, it's probably wise not to use them in that combination.
Old December 21, 2015, 12:17 AM   #4
Xfire68

I just did a search and this is the best I have seen posted to date.

http://www.ballisticproducts.com/load14_04_25.htm
Old December 21, 2015, 12:25 AM   #5
Xfire68

Ah go figure! The darn PT1205 wad is discontinued!
Old December 21, 2015, 12:42 AM   #6
Kosh75287