The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 24, 2009, 01:49 PM   #1
DBAR

New to loading with lead....

I've been loading for about 7 years, and I've always loaded (.45acp) with plated, or jacketed bullets. I'm considering loading with lead, and I've heard good things about Missour Bullet Company. Their local, and have a good reputation.

Here's my question.

What do I need to know about loading lead. Do I have to lube the bullets? Looks like they have the wax ring aruond them already. I've got load data, so that's ok. I just need to know the simple does, and dont's about loading with lead. I'll also take in tips on cleaning too. I've got a Kimber 1911, and a SIG P220 SAO that I'll be loading for.

I appreciate any input, and thanks in advance.

DBAR
Old September 24, 2009, 01:54 PM   #2
Farmland

I use their 45's all the time. Nothing special just follow your load books. However you may have to provide a larger bell on the case if you are shaving some lead.

These bullets are pre-lubed so there is no need to lube.

One other thing you may have to clean your dies a little more often if the lube starts to gum them up.
Old September 24, 2009, 02:14 PM   #3
DBAR

Thank you Farmland, that's what I was thinking, but wanted to be sure.

DBAR
Old September 24, 2009, 09:39 PM   #4
chris in va

Understand that lead, lubed bullets will smoke a LOT when fired, even with clean powder. I was quite shocked how bad my first reloads belched smoke at the indoor range with Universal and 9mm cast bullets. The people at the other stalls were waving their hands around trying to clear the air.
Old September 24, 2009, 09:50 PM   #5
Doby45

Spoken for truth. My 40 with blue lube and Universal smokes like an old black powder muzzle loader.
Old September 24, 2009, 10:11 PM   #6
Sevens