The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 11, 2013, 04:13 PM   #1
Traveling Fur Hunter

Can Reloading Be Dangerous?

Have any of you had problems with reloading, like guns or bullets blowing up, misfires, bullets getting stuck in the barrel etc? And is it cheaper and by how much.
Old April 11, 2013, 04:19 PM   #2
Flashover2011

IMHO I don't think I could cover my losses from the initial expense, I shoot about 200 rounds a month from various firearms and for me, the initial investment of the equipment plus all the powder, primers, casings, and lead would not equal out to the cost of me just buying ammo. Especially once time is figured into that equation. I have had problems with some reloads, like some feeding issues and once a bullet shoved down into the casing. My gun shop takes my empty casings in and discounts my ammo so that is the best solution for me, and I'm no expert. Just throwin my 2 cents in.
Old April 11, 2013, 04:21 PM   #3
mehavey

Cheaper? ..... naaaaah
(Unless you're competitive shooter in a high-volume and/or a specialty cartridge game)

Dangerous? About as dangerous as power saws and drill presses -- where if distracted or sloppy you will eventually hurt yourself.

Experience ? In 45 years I've had one instance of a powder mixup, but where my general approach to staying mid-pressure both saved the day (blown primer only) and was caught immediately by looking at carefully-kept records.
Old April 11, 2013, 04:23 PM   #4
xboxevo2006

If you follow the specs on the cartridge size, use the proper powders (dont exceed max limits) and primers you should never have a problem of any sort in a good condition firearm. Fo your other question, reloading is not cheaper in the short run( reloading press, powders, bullets, etc) but if you are shooting alot, it is well worth it in the long run( for the most part you can reload for half the price).