The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old August 26, 2015, 05:54 PM   #1
rt11002003

Heads Up, Kimber Solo 9mm

I've been carrying the SOLO for several months using the recommended ammo. The gun has in excess of 300 rounds through it without a problem. I usually fire a box of 25 through it every month. Yesterday, the first mag went fine and then it wouldn't feed using four different mags. Couldn't see well at the range, but at home discovered the spring that fits in a notch on the slide stop was under the slide stop tab. I think the slide was catching on the spring and not going all the way to the end of the travel; preventing the round moving up.

Seating that spring properly is specifically pointed out in the SOLO operating manual. I'm always very careful with it; checking it after installation. Since a whole mag cycled OK, I can't come up with an explanation. If one of you can explain my problem, let me know. Those of you with SOLO's, be aware of my plight. I could be be doing something incorrectly. Remember to check that spring after installing the slide stop.
Old August 29, 2015, 10:34 PM   #2
Auto5

Typically, failing to properly install the slide stop lever so that it engages that little spring will cause the slide to lock back, even with rounds in the magazine (guess how I know this). Note: check the lugs on the barrel and slide for signs of peening. I ended up having to send mine back to Kimber. They basically gave me a new gun from the frame up.
Old September 2, 2015, 03:32 PM   #3
rt11002003