The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old September 8, 2007, 05:33 PM   #1
RED DER

Bullseye Ammo Survey

I'm about to start shooting Bullseye and I'm curious what type of ammo other shooters use for centerfire and .45. Do you load your own or buy already loaded? What kind of bullets e.g. lead or plated or jacketed, SWC or RN or? Do you load for low or high velocity. Do primers make any difference?

Bear in mind I'm a newbie to competition and I'm just beginning to reload. For centerfire my choices are .38spl revolver or 9mm 92FS. From what I've read I'm leaning toward the .38. Does that make sense?

Thanks for any input.
Old September 8, 2007, 06:45 PM   #2
4EVERM-14

I think the majority use the .45 for both centerfire and .45 stage.
The only loaded .45 acp target ammo is from Federal. At $25/box you'll need a sponsor to pay the tab. 185gr or 200gr. lead semi-wadcutter loaded light seems to be average. Some save their jacketed stuff for important matches.
Shoot what you've got to get started. See what everyone else is using.
The revolver is fine. Might be a interesting for the rapid fire stages though.
Distinguished Rifleman #731
Presidents 100
Old September 8, 2007, 09:09 PM   #3
RED DER

Re: 4EVERM-14

Thanks for the info. One thing I've noticed in various bullet ads is something about a harder lead alloy. I presume there's a benefit to that...maybe less fouling, but is it more accurate as well?
Old September 8, 2007, 09:20 PM   #4
TNT_Shooter

I use my .45 for both centerfire and .45 matches. I load my own ammo for my matches...different loads for long line and short line. That way, I do not have to adjust my sights.

Long line: 200 gr SWC loaded with 4.0 Bullseye powder.
Short line: 185 gr Star bullet loaded with 3.9 WST powder.