The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 30, 2010, 01:49 PM   #1
Farmland

How Important is a Chronograph to safe reloading?

I have been reloading for over two decades now. I'm not sure how many rounds I have done but lets just say it is far over 10,000.

How important is a chronograph in reloading?

Most of my experience is in pistol, rifle experience is only two years. The only problem I ever had was when I misread the scale for a powder charge reloading my 40 S&W. I walked away with only having to replace the extractor and some loss pride.

In any event I use several sources to make sure my loads are within what is called for. They are of course published loads, then checking for external signs such as case or primer damage. I'm not sure if perceived recoil is a factor but non the less I know when it is more for a given load.

I never work my loads up to the maxim, I just never had a need to go very far from the middle publish load data. I understand that the actual pressure can be different from the load data.

My second question would I be using best practices for the way I have been reloading or is the chronograph an important step that I should be using for safety?

What is your opinion on this?
Old July 30, 2010, 02:01 PM   #2
Mike Irwin
Staff

I've never found one to be necessary.

The one issue I had some years ago wouldn't have been caught by a chronograph. It would have registered abnormally high bullet velocity, but that would have been after the case head blew out due to the double charge I put in the case.

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old July 30, 2010, 02:03 PM   #3
Ozzieman

This is a good question and I am looking forward to some of the answers.
For myself, there are so many other ways to tell pressure that safety is not a reason I would own one, which I do not at this time.