The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 25, 2011, 10:35 AM   #1
ActivShootr

Beretta help

I have a Beretta 3901 Ambassador that WILL NOT fully cycle light loads or 2.75" heavy game loads. It will fire and the bolt comes back far enough to cock the hammer but does not eject the hull or release another round from the magazine. It is squeaky clean on the inside and I have scraped the gas ports inside the barrel. According to the schematics I have found, it is put together correctly. The only part I have not removed and checked is the recoil spring in the buttstock. Could it be a bent or dirty spring?

Has anyone else run into this problem and if so, what did you do to fix it?
Old November 25, 2011, 11:01 AM   #2
zippy13

I'm not sure what you mean by "I have scraped the gas ports" -- typically you need an appropriately sized punch to knock the crud out of the ports. You said it's squeak clean, is it lubricated? Crud in the gas works and improper re-assembly are the typical causes of gas guns failing to operate properly. As far as the spring is concerned, does the bolt open and close smoothly when operated manually?
Old November 25, 2011, 11:10 AM   #3
oregunner

The first thing I would do is use 2 snap caps. Load one in the chamber and one in the magazine. Pull the trigger and pull the bolt back manually. See if the first snap cap ejects and the second one loads. Pull back firmly. You should start to be able to see if it works, and if not why not. It may be gas related, lube related, or mechanical. Good luck. Mark
Old November 25, 2011, 11:13 AM   #4
ActivShootr