The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 4, 2015, 08:57 PM   #1
MarkGlazer

Safety Glasses - where does the risk stop?

I've been loading for just over two years now. I always wear safety glasses throughout the priming/power/bullet seating process (I process brass separately, have it stored and ready to load). Lately I've been wondering if the risk stops after I seat primers and can do away with the glasses. My motivation is the fact that I wear safety glasses over my regular glasses, kind of uncomfortable.

In the two plus years, I have never experienced any issues loading, no detonated primers, accidents, etc. I won't be arrogant enough to say I've perfected the process because I haven't. But I do take great care in the passion that I pursue. I do understand that anything can happen at any time. I'm simply hard pressed to see risk once the primer is seated.

Your thoughts?
Old June 4, 2015, 09:00 PM   #2
reynolds357

I hate to give you this answer because it will give someone on here a heart attack. I only wear safety glasses when I am seating primers. No other time.
Old June 4, 2015, 11:44 PM   #3
DaleA

I've always just ordered my glasses with hardened glass lenses. They ARE quite a bit heavier but since that's all I've ever had they aren't that uncomfortable for me. YMMV.

P.S. I've got a friend that went the full face shield route:

http://www.amazon.com/3M-90028-Profe...ty+face+shield

It looks goofy as anything but I tried it once and it is more comfortable than hooking safety googles over your glasses.
Old June 4, 2015, 11:46 PM   #4
Sport45

I wear my safety glasses anytime I want to see.

Chris at safevision.net set me up with a pair that are stylish enough for everday wear. I just add the side shields when work policy (or good sense) requires.