The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old March 16, 2008, 11:20 PM   #1
Rant Casey

Reasonable price for mac 10

I was at the range tonight and they had a mac 10 for sale, now normally I would much prefer a "nicer" smg, however at a price tag of 3800 dollars... I don't know if i can pass this up. Would you buy it?
Old March 17, 2008, 08:41 AM   #2
Beretta686

I'd laugh at them. I'm new to the MG game, but I bought a NIB RPB MAC-10 for $3200 in November.

From what I've gathered the asking price is in the $3500-$3800 but the selling price is in the $3000-3200 range.

Check gunbroker and look on forums like UZI-Talk, where folks advertise their toys for sale (although I've seen SMGs in the local paper before).

As you seem to understand the stock MAC-10 is an amusing bullet-hose of fun (although there is a case to be made otherwise). But with the cool Lage MAX-10 uppers you can make yourself a really nice SMG out of a MAC-10 that arguably outclasses the UZI. However with 9mm prices getting really obscene, I'd angle more towards a .22 kit for hours of cheap 22 fun.

When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.”
Old March 17, 2008, 03:22 PM   #3
Rant Casey

I'm new to the whole NFA game, I understand the transfer process with the tax stamp and paperwork, but how does it work with actually purchasing the weapon? Do i pay first then wait to be approved? How does it work while purchasing off a site like gunbroker? Does the seller ship to my class 3 dealer and he holds it until im approved or does the seller hold on to it until im approved and then ships the gun to my class 3?
Old March 17, 2008, 03:50 PM   #4
Beretta686