The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 27, 2009, 01:28 PM   #1
cjaymiller

7mm remington brass

I am just getting started into reloading and I am looking to buy some new or 1x fired brass for my 7mm remington mag. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? I am also looking for an RCBS Rock Chucker single stage press to buy. I have found the kits but I only want the press, dont have any need for the rest of the components.
Old October 27, 2009, 01:50 PM   #2
LHB1

I would recommend buying new brass or ammo all of the same brand rather than starting with mixed brass fired in another gun. The only time I ever had any real problems with handloads was when loading some ammo for a friend using mixed/pick up brass he provided. It was the same load I used but showed major pressure signs in his gun. We pulled the bullets, salvaged the components, got some new brass, loaded the EXACT same load, and the ammo worked perfectly (just as it should have) in his gun. Starting with new brass just eliminates one more possible source of problems.
Old October 27, 2009, 01:59 PM   #3
TheNatureBoy

Do what you want but I wouldn't recommend buying 1x used brass either. I purchased some at a gun show from a Georgia Arms booth and half of it I couldn't use which suggests that its been fired more than once. I might add that the Georgia Arms rep told me that it WAS once fired. As long as I am able to purchase new brass I will do so.

Last edited by TheNatureBoy; October 28, 2009 at 02:04 PM.
Old October 27, 2009, 04:39 PM   #4
flashhole

I can sell you some 1x fired 7mm Rem Mag brass. I have it advertised on Greybeard for $22 shipped for 50 pieces. The cautions are warranted because you always take a chance. This is all brass I fired in my Sauer 202 before I stared reloading. Here's the picture.