The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 25, 2006, 02:36 PM   #1
ceetee

Different ways to grip a handgun

Reading the thread on stances made me think about something. In all of my formal training, I used a revolver. I was taught to grip the revolver with the thumb of my support hand crossed over the thumb of my strong hand, locking both hands together.

Now, I watch the pros more carefully, and I've seen the videos showing the thumb of the support hand beside the strong hand thumb, parallel with the barrel. Is there a "best" way? Is there any detriment to shooting an auto using a grip like I've described using on the revolver?

Your comments will be appreciated!
Old August 25, 2006, 02:52 PM   #2
Samurai

As a newbie, I'm in the same boat that you are. My understanding of the auto-grip is that the action of aligning both thumbs toward the target will properly align your wrists to the bore, thereby improving your natural aim.

But, with autos, the bore is typically much closer to the grip. In revolvers, the interlocking of the thumbs helps hold the gun steady, a device for dealing with increased recoil. I believe the interlocking thumb grip also serves to move your thumbs off of the cylinder to allow proper revolution of the cylinder.

- Why is it that we fire 1,000 rounds and know that we need more practice, but yet we punch a bag 10 times and think we know how to fight?

- When in doubt, train, train, train...
Old August 25, 2006, 03:32 PM   #3
Lurper