The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 13, 2012, 07:10 PM   #1
tkglazie

Why such great results with .45 even though FCD is swaging my bullets?

This is more of a general reloading question than an FCD question. No need to argue the pros and cons of using an FCD in this thread, there are plenty of active threads about that as is!

What I want to learn is why am I seeing great results when I load using my Lee 4 die set, even though I can clearly see and feel that my bullets are being swaged by the FCD?

Brief backstory- I am new to loading for .45ACP. I got an SR1911 maybe a month ago and loaded .451" 230gr FMJ first (over 5.0gr N320 at 1.255" 730fps, very accurate), then .452 200gr LSWC (over 4.8gr HP38 at 1.265", ragged hole at 25' accurate) and just today loaded my first .452 230gr LRN (over 4.8gr HP38 at 1.265", ragged hole at 25' accurate).

I use an FCD for all of my handgun loading (.380, 9mm, .38, .357) and always make very accurate ammo. Unless I am using bulged range brass, the FCD post-sizing ring rarely does much of anything in these calibers, as you would expect. With .45 bullets on the other hand, I am literally forcing every cartridge into and out of the FCD with some pretty serious force (enough to warrant loosening the bolt and extending the ram arm to max length on my LCT. When I loaded my first batch like that I figured I was making junk, but the results dont lie. The finished cartridges look and shoot spectacularly well. (note that I am NOT a great shooter, this is my first 1911 and I simply had no idea that a gun could shoot this accurately, this easily).

Shouldnt I be seeing reduced accuracy due to decreased neck tension with the FCD working the neck so hard across the full depth of the seated bullet?

I have cartridge and target pics available if needed.