The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old July 31, 2013, 11:23 PM   #1
Cosmodragoon

Will keeping a fully loaded mag REALLY wear out the spring?

I've seen a lot of folks, here and elsewhere, caution against keeping fully loaded magazines because it can wear out the spring.

I know from physics that springs tend to lose elasticity under prolonged compression. The rate of loss depends on several factors from spring construction to temperature. The question is how long it takes to lose crucial elasticity. (That is when the loss goes beyond operating tolerances and starts causing failures.)

I'm no expert but I've had magazines loaded for years without issue. That goes for those in straight storage and those that simply get refilled every time they are used. So for those with more experience, how many failures have you seen from this? What king of failures do you see? Is it a marginal issue where things just seem to work less well overall? Is this even a real concern?
Old July 31, 2013, 11:37 PM   #2
JohnKSa
Staff

Short answer:

It can be an issue, but it's much less of an issue than in times past. And it depends heavily on the magazine and type of magazine. Single column mags virtually never seem to weaken from being left loaded and it's not common with double-column mags anymore.

Long answers:

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=527697
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=416174
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=393838
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=433756
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=524727
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=494514
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=454204
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=442487

The solution is simple and it's not one that requires anything that we shouldn't already be doing.