The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 24, 2007, 06:21 PM   #1
Old Gaffer

Browning BuckMark going auto

At least twice today, my BM Hunter gave me "two-for-one specials"; that is, two shots fired for one squeeze of the trigger. And NEVER more than two, and never two back-to-back.

It also several times seemed to fail to either cock, or re-set the trigger after ejecting the previously-fired shell casing. I'm not sure if the trigger wasn't cocked or it the trigger simply didn't reset; the "fix" was to manually rack the slide, eject the round in the chamber, and continue shooting.

Several months ago I did the Heggis-trick (invert the sear spring to lighten trigger), and a month or so before that I'd polished the hammer and sear mating surfaces.

It was 24ยบ (F) at my range this morning when I started shooting, and didn't warm up past the very low forties all day.

I haven't torn the gun down to look at it yet, but I thoroughly intend to.

So, to the questions:

Are the problems of multiple discharges related to the trigger not resetting (or hammer not getting cocked)?

Is it likely that the cold was a factor, and that my BM is simply a warm-weather friend?

And what do you all use for cold-weather lubrication?

What am I looking for when I strip it down? Is there going to be anything obvious, or should I just return the gun to as stock as possible and send it off to Browning? Giving it back to Browning would be my very last choice as I'll be without a pistol for a good part of the winter league. But if that's what it takes...

All the best,
Rob
Old November 25, 2007, 01:15 AM   #2
4V50 Gary
Staff

Try undoing that spring trick first. If that doesn't work, your sear/hammer relation should be examined.
Old November 25, 2007, 10:02 AM   #3
DWARREN123

Also heavy lube will sometimes do this in the cold.
Old November 25, 2007, 03:43 PM   #4
Harry Bonar

doubling

Sir: