The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 23, 2005, 11:11 PM   #1
gfen

Total newbie looking to start: What to buy?

Looking for some starting points (or, really, a complete roadmap, but one can't be picky)..

I'd like to start reloading .38spl, eventually moving to add .357mag and even further into .45ACP (I'm too lazy to pick up brass, and Wolf is keeping me satiated for now).

My wife has agreed to help purchase some things for the holidays, and I'm hoping I can get some guidance onto what I need, exactly.

Should I invest in a kit, or should I purchase components? I'd like to keep her expenditures to $200 or less, certainly no more than $250.

Is a progressive press preferred over a single stage? I understand a single stage is "safer" because its slower, but then I am lazy and the thought of minimal effort excites me. What is the extra advantage in safety to be had with a single stage? I presume if I'm going to go progressive, I'll have to buy components.

Speaking of which, what components are suggested or required? Keep in mind, I don't hunt so I never foresee having to load for throated rifle rounds.

I assume, at this point, that 200 rounds a week is probably about where I'll end up shooting. Even if its not entirely economically feasable, part of the appeal of reloading is the ability to make low recoilling practice rounds, both for my own long term enjoyment (at this point, planning on doing significant practice with my airweight CCW), and trying to help encourage the aforementioned wife into moving up from a .22.
Old October 24, 2005, 12:31 AM   #2
ClarkEMyers

Start with books -

Start with books - or you may be able to get enough at the library but start with books.