The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 4, 2008, 02:14 PM   #1
mikenbarb

Rifle brass, How long does it last?

I am new to this and wondering how many times rifle brass can be reloaded? I am wondering about 30-30,223 and .300 Win.Mag. Also, Can you reload the nickel plated cases from Winchesters Supreme line of ammo, If so, do they require special treatment vs regular brass and do they last longer?
I forgot to add that all are being shot out of bolt actions.

Last edited by mikenbarb; June 4, 2008 at 07:40 PM.
Old June 4, 2008, 02:33 PM   #2
Scorch

Generally, brass lasts longer when loaded to lower pressure. In your case, 223 will last longer than 30-30, which will last longer than 300 WinMag. Typically, I get about 8-10 reloads out of my 223 brass, with a few cases failing before that. I no longer load 30-30, but I remember getting about 5 or 6 reloads out of the cases (the brass is fairly thin and the rifles that shoot it don't generally ahve the tightest lock-up). I do not load 300 WinMag, but I suppose you will get about 4-5 loadings out of it.
Old June 4, 2008, 02:50 PM   #3
ginshun

The ever present "how many times can XXX be reloaded?".

Very common question.

Unfortuanatly there is not real good answer. What Scorch said is about how it goes though. The hotter you load your ammo, the shorter the life span of the brass will be. It you are not loading things really hot though, I would say that 5-6 loadings at least is common for most calibers.

Basically just make sure you are inspecting your cases thouroghly between each loading and watching for signs of overpressure when you shoot them. Get the calipers out and measure all the case dimensions before you load the case. If everything is close to where it is supposed to be and there are not cracks or other obvious defects in the case, load it up and shoot it.