The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 2, 2007, 05:54 PM   #1
mike72

44 spl?

I am new to reloading and have a question about the load for 44 spl. I have bought 210 gr JHP to reload using HP38. The load data I have goes from 200 gr jacketed bullet to 220 gr jacketed bullet. There is nothing about 210 gr bullets. Should I go with the 200gr or 220gr data? Is it common to run across? Also does the gr of the bullet affect the over all length. I did what the instructions said to set the seating die and set a 210 bullet in to a un primer brass. It set at 1.497 not 1.615 like the max length shows. The bullet looks to have set to the same depth in the brass as a factory load so does this make a difference being that 1.615 is the max overall. I do not want to set the bullet to deep.
Old December 2, 2007, 06:00 PM   #2
TexasSeaRay

I load 44 Spc but I haven't loaded any jacketed bullets in quite a while. And I've never used the powder you're using (nothing wrong with it, just never have tried it)

My rule of thumb is to never load max powder charges my first run out. If I need/want factory specs, then I'll buy factory ammo. Most of my reloading is for plinking/practice.

With that said, I would err on the side of the lower charge. It should take slightly more powder to push a heavier bullet, but again, look at your charts and see what the pressure and fps is. If they are similar between the two bullets, I would stay somewhere in the middle and only load up twelve to eighteen. Keep notes of how much powder you used, and when you're at the range, make notes of how the round performed.

It normally takes me several shooting trips before I find a load I really like--that's why I only load a few first time out.

As far as bullet length and overall cartridge length, I'm always more concerned with seating depth rather than overall length of cartridge.