The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 25, 2015, 09:36 AM   #1
Cencotech

Cleaning used dies

I'm new to reloading and just getting my equipment together. I have a Lee 4 hole Turret press and I bought a used set of Lee Carbide 38 Special dies. Not knowing how these dies were used, do I need to try to clean them. If so how would I do that?

Thanks for the help
Old July 25, 2015, 10:04 AM   #2
rtpzwms

Yes you should clean the dies. In fact it is something you should do regularly. Simply take them apart since this is your first time pay attention to how they are assembled when you take them apart so you can put them back together the same way. Just think of cleaning you firearm and follow the same basic cleaning procedures. I like a nylon brush and a little solvent followed with a light coat of oil to prevent rusting.

Get a good reloading manual and do some reading it will explain what to do and what each of the dies do. If you know someone who reloads, ask to hangout while he/she reloads. Just seeing the process helps make everything clear. You can also see videos on youtube. I suggest if you use youtube find several and watch them don't rely on just one. Some of them have, lets say an interesting way of reloading.

It is a fairly simple thing to do but just starting out follow the books/load data carefully. Don't be in a rush to go to a full load. Start low and work up carefully. If at any time you don't understand something come back and ask more questions. There are a lot of great answers here on the forum.
Old July 25, 2015, 10:55 AM   #3
Doyle