The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 27, 2009, 07:52 PM   #1
GuyS

Handgun Enthusiast new to SHotgunning

I am taking a basic shotgun training class thorugh the NRA and am about to purchase my first shotgun. i am looking for soemthing I can use for home defense, trap and skeet understanding of course there has to be compronises since each area has a specific type of shotugn. I was lookng at the Mossberg 500 combo set with field barrel and slug barrel and the Remington 870 police tactical which I udnerstand canb be modified for sporting.

I really don't want to spend a lot of money since I am just getting into shotgunning.

Is there a multi purpose shot gun that can meet my needs?

Any advice?
Old February 27, 2009, 07:56 PM   #2
oneounceload

HD/SD and clay games - skeet, trap, 5-stand and sporting, are really different situations and really do not, IMO, work with one gun. .....while doable, you will not get your best scores on clay games when using a HD gun and vice versa

you will need to make a compromise....which area are you willing to make that compromise?
Old February 28, 2009, 01:03 AM   #3
GuyS

I'd probably rank HD top priority and then the sporting games
Old February 28, 2009, 02:07 AM   #4
zippy13

Greetings, GuyS and welcome aboard,

Oneounceload is right about the compromises. Many times the comparison is made: selecting a home defense (HD) gun that's also good for trap and skeet is like wanting a reliable inexpensive car that will race on the road course and the drag strip.
A Mossberg 500 or Remington 870 combo gun is okay in some hunting situations and you can shoot a little clays. But, when you see what the serious shooters are using and their scores, your pump gun is going to have you feeling like you're playing golf with a croquette mallet.