The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 9, 2011, 02:54 PM   #1
Spydr1299

Bullet not seating

Currently using the Lock n load ap press and run into a question. I'm using Winchester 9mm 115 fmj bullets to make my rounds. After inspecting my rounds, I'm able to push down on the bullet with my fingers and it will actually push down to the powder. Why is this? Before the Winchester, I was using hornady, same specs without the problem. Is this something that can be fired (I'm really assuming not). How can I fix this? Oh, yes, I'm new to reloading and have successfully shot all my hornady rounds. I just didnt want to have a problem with the Winchester bullets. Thanks for any help!
Old September 9, 2011, 02:57 PM   #2
chris in va

I'd have to say something is up with your resizing die. Definitely don't fire those new rounds you made.

What is the diameter of the Winchester bullets?
Old September 9, 2011, 03:00 PM   #3
Spydr1299

355. I've made several adjustments, just can't seem to get it seated right
Old September 9, 2011, 03:01 PM   #4
chris in va

Is that the diameter on the label, or actual that you measured with calipers?
Old September 9, 2011, 03:14 PM   #5
Spydr1299

Label, I'll go out and measure with calipers in a bit and let you know
Old September 9, 2011, 03:23 PM   #6
Spydr1299

Calipers also show 355. May help to know that I'm using hornady titanium nitride 3 die set
Old September 9, 2011, 03:42 PM   #7
Tim R

Do you know the history of the brass? Could be a sign of worn out brass.

.355 is the same as your 9mm bullet. I would question your brass. Work hardened brass will not size properly and have the problem you are having.
Old September 9, 2011, 03:53 PM   #8
Spydr1299

Brass is once fired S&B. Not exactly sure what you mean by work hardened.
Old September 9, 2011, 03:55 PM   #9
Clifford L. Hughes

Spydr1299: