The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 5, 2009, 07:34 PM   #1
m&p45acp10+1

De-leading a barrel

I am going to start casting lead bullets to shoot in my 45 acp. I have never used lead before. I am needing info on any possible things to look for as to show sighns of lead building up in the barrel. Next I would apreciate info on anything i can do to remove lead from the inside of the barell without damaging it.
I am also new to relaoding, have not yet, am waiting for the molds to come in as there seems to be shortage in the area of any bullets that a person on a ramen noodles, and bread sandwidch budget can afford.
I would like to know this because it is going into my S&W M&P 45. It is brand new, only fired at the factry for the spent shell casing. I may be a bit paranoid, but I do want to keep my gun clean of lead.
I have already melted down a couple of hundred pounds of wheel weights into ingots. Just it is the waiting game for the molds. They are the Lee molds 2 cavity one is 230 grn round one is 230 grain swc.
Old May 5, 2009, 07:56 PM   #2
keebo52

This forum has everything you ever wanted to know about cast bullets and barrel leading. http://castboolits.gunloads.com/index.php
Check it out.
Old May 5, 2009, 08:37 PM   #3
RamSlammer

If you need to get the lead out . . . nothing better IMHO than the Lewis Lead Remover. http://www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/sto...l.aspx?p=21587
Old May 5, 2009, 08:54 PM   #4
T. O'Heir

Leading is caused by trying to drive a cast bullet too fast. Follow your manual religiously and you'll have no problems.
"...230 grain swc..." Those might, I say again, might give you feeding issues if your pistol is not set up to use 'em. The feed ramp needs to be extended about half way up the chamber.
Old May 5, 2009, 08:55 PM   #5
C Philip