The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old April 5, 2015, 12:24 PM   #1
Capybara

Hungarian M44 - What would you do?

Hi all:

I bought this Hungarian M44 at a gun show about two years ago for $150.00. It has had the hand of Bubba laid upon it unfortunately but the metal looked brand new unissued, as in this thing has rarely, if ever been shot. I took care of that, having put a few hundred rounds downrange with it, it is a great rifle, fun to shoot, very accurate for an M44. The stock has been sanded, varnished, the sling escutcheons were inexplicably painted gloss black along with the barrel bands and the magazine and Bubba also installed sling bases (why do this if you have the Mosin dog collar fittings right there?!?!) I have been hunting for a Hungarian stock for two years, have only seen one decent one pop up on Gunboards and I was about 10 minutes too late.

If this were your gun, would you:

1. Keep it as is as a fine shooter than has been Bubba'd?

2. Keep up the hunt for an 02 Hungarian stock? Maybe someday I will find one?

3. Find a nice, clean Russian stock and transfer the action over to it to have a Hungarian/Russian mess?

I'm not in a hurry, but every time I take it out to shoot, the present stock bugs me because it is so cheesy looking.

Thanks for your opinion.

Old April 5, 2015, 02:52 PM   #2
psalm7

I guess you are talking about the very light color because someone has stripped the red'ish color comblock finish .
I think I would refinish it to your own taste since it has already been refinished . Like a good dark walnut or maple with lots of "bird pecks" .
Unless there is some damage I cant see in the picture .
Old April 5, 2015, 03:58 PM   #3
44 AMP
Staff

"Zip strip" the varnish, refinish in a less "cheezy" color. Or just use some more spray paint...
Old April 5, 2015, 04:08 PM   #4
Capybara